Onboarding : Azure Management Features


  • Key concepts
  • Azure scopes
  • Policies
  • Role-based access control (RBAC)

Key concepts

  • Azure AD Group
  • Policy
  • Role-based access control

Azure scopes

Azure provides four level of management

  • Level 1 : Management Groups
    • Level 2: Subscriptions
      • Level 3: Resource Groups
        • Level 4 : Resources

Note: lower level inherts setting from the higher level.

Apply the critical settings at higher levels and project specific requirements at lower level.


The policies are like guard rails. They keep the usage of azure resources in a specific frame and help to accomplish the requirements.


  • Allow locations for resources.
  • Allow locations for specific resources.

Role-based access control (RBAC)

The user who manages the role-based access control needs the following roles

  • Microsoft.Authorization/RoleAssignments/* (this role is assigned through Owner or User Access Administrator Role)

You owe your dreams your courage.

Koleka Putuma

Published by parisamoosavinezhad

- Software Engineer - Software Architect - Software and database specialist - Cloud solution architect

One thought on “Onboarding : Azure Management Features

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: